Jimi Tenor has compiled a selection of afro jazz tracks that he has written and performed over the years with musicians Icelandic drummer, Helgi Svavar Helgason, Helsinki based guitarist/bassist and journalist Ilkka Mattila, legendary drummer Tony Allen, Cuban & Berlin based trumpeter Daniel Allen Oberto, Ethiopian/Finnish & Helsinki based percussionist Abdissa Mamba Assefa (Itetune), Nigerian/German & Berlin based percussionist Akinola Famson, Helsinki based percussionist Mongo Aaltonen, American & Paris based spoken word artist/singer & painter Allon Wills (Allonymous), Helsinki based flügelhornist Tero Lindberg, Finnish & Berlin based guitarist Kalle Kalima, Polish & Berlin based bassist Patrick Frankowski, British trombonist Hilary Jeffery and Ghanaian/German & Berlin based drummer Ekow Alabi Savage.


1. Cap De Creus:
Drums: Helgi Svavar Helgason
Electric Bass: Ilkka Mattila
Synthesizers, Vocals: Jimi Tenor

2. Full House:
Drums: Tony Allen
Percussion: Abdissa Assefa, Akinola Famson, Mongo Aaltonen, Daniel Allen Oberto, Allon Wills (Allonymous)
Trumpet: Daniel Allen Oberto
Acoustic Guitar, Organ, Synthesizer, Tenor Saxophone: Jimi Tenor

3. My Baby Is Coming:
Bass Kalimba, Drum Programming, Log-o-phone, Moog, Tenor Saxophone, Vocals, Walton Organ: Jimi Tenor

4. Vortex:
Drums: Helgi Svavar Helgason, Bass Kalimba, Electric Guitar, Photophone, Tambourine, Tenor Saxophone, Vocal: Jimi Tenor

5. Ursa Major:
Drums, Electric Piano, Flute, Moog, Percussion, Tenor Saxophone: Jimi Tenor

6. Baby Pharaoh:
Drums: Helgi Svavar Helgason
Acoustic Guitar, Bass Kalimba, Flute, Shaker, Tenor Saxophone: Jimi Tenor

7. Four Corners Of The Earth
Lead Vocal: Allonymous
Backing Vocals, Electric Bass, Percussion, Programming, Tenor Saxophone, Walton Organ: Jimi Tenor

8. Meridian Of Peace
Fl├╝gelhorn: Tero Lindberg
Electric Bass, Percussion, Programming, Vocals: Jimi Tenor

9. Kivinokka :
Acoustic Piano, Drums, Flute, Moog, Tenor Saxophone, Percussion, Vocals: Jimi Tenor

10. Magick Of Choice:
Drum Programming, Electric Piano, Flute, Hammond, Moog, Percussion, Tenor Saxophone: Jimi Tenor

11. Peaceful Maelstrom:
Drums: Ekow Alabi Savage
Electric Bass: Patrick Frankowski
Electric Guitars: Ilkka Mattila, Kalle Kalima
Percussion: Akinola Famson
Trombone: Hilary Jeffery
Trumpet: Daniel Allen Oberto
Electric Piano, Synthesizer, Tenor Saxophone: Jimi Tenor

12. Polygonal:
Bass Kalimba, Drums, Flute, Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Plastic Bongos, Shaker, Tenor Saxophone: Jimi Tenor

Album Art Direction and Photography: Vilunki 3000

Jimi Tenor, born Lassi Osmo Tapio Lehto in Lahti, Finland, who has been releasing recorded music for 30 years, plays several instruments as is his usual practice. He is credited for playing on the upcoming release Saxentric; acoustic guitar, acoustic piano, background vocals, bass kalimba, drums, drum programming, electric guitar, electric piano, flute, Hammond organ, Korg MS-20, Korg PolySix, Log-o-phone, Moog, organ, percussion, Photophone, plastic bongos, programming, shaker, synthesizers, tambourine, tenor saxophone, vocals and Walton organ.


No comments

You can be the first one to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>